Some elements of periodic table

Hi,
today I am writing from Brazil which is why I had this few day pause from writing. I have got and idea to write about some elements of periodic table so this post will rather be mess of some stuff I found over time, probably a bit related to astronomy.

First of all I will start with one thing that comes to my mind and that is Hydrogen and Helium. Only those two elements in astronomy count as something different than metal.

PeriodicTable.gifThe reason for this is that astronomers wanted to make some difference between the most important elements in universe and the rest and the rest was almost all metal.

Iron will be the next stop for me. Iron is very special because it is the last element which can be created through thermonuclear fusion. Actually star can fuse iron but only to isotope 55 and then the reaction would take energy to fuse any higher so it is the ending point of stars life. Higher elements can be created in supernovas.

Now let me jump right on the end of periodic table. The last known element is Ununoctium. It has proton number 118. He is also the last known noble gas right after Radon but this element with many others is synthetic which means that you can not find him in the nature and is only made in lab.
Once I asked my chemistry teacher where will be next element since Ununoctium marks the end of another period.
Sadly I had to find out by myself. The next one of course will be right under Francium.
But what is more interesting is that element with 121 proton number will have another shell filled, now it will be G shell. This element would also be the first superactinide.

To read more on this topic check out:
Island of stability
Interactive periodic table

Dragallur

7 thoughts on “Some elements of periodic table

Leave a Reply

