My experience with Windows 10

Hi,
since a while back I was kind of interested in programming and computers and on the camp last two weeks there were lot of nerds to computers I decided to share my experience with Windows 10 upgrade.


Do you remember the annoying notifications from your computer about this new operating system? Maybe you have them even now if you have not upgraded yet. My teacher on geography and computers shared with our class this link to some software that disabled these notifications. It was quite good except that I almost missed the time when Windows 10 is for free, the offer ends 28th of this month I think and I got notified just because I was on another computer.

I of course did not want to miss it because right now Windows 10 costs over 100$ which is not something I can afford. Also Microsoft promises free upgrades now and on. This makes sense, all other operating systems have it like that. At least mobile for example, not talking about Linux which is for free completely. I have heard that it would be logical to cut down the price or extend the possibility to upgrade since they want as many people as possible on the newest system. It would be quite nice if there was then just one system not 4 or 5 Windows where some are compatible to something and some are not.


The upgrade itself went pretty smoothly though it took at least 4 hours -_-. Right now I am turning off all the various features the new OS has since I do not want to be part of sharing all my personal data right to office of Microsoft. Not that they could not see everything right now.. but the age is moving on and this is the way it is.. having too many personal things on computer may be dangerous.. the time of clouds has come and it may happen soon that we wont even have proper harddisk but everything will be somewhere else in the world.

Dragallur

PS: even that this is so called “best windows so far” it is not able to have one wallpaper for each monitor -_- 😀

5 thoughts on “My experience with Windows 10

  1. What intrigues me is that there is a kind of ‘base reporting home’ that can only be turned off in the enterprise version of Win 10. But as you say, everything reports back these days. The only way I can see around it is to disconnect from the internet. I’m not myself convinced about cloud because it still requires transmission across the web and storage outside your control, although there’s an obvious benefit in backup and data reliability. I knew someone whose latest book was on his laptop. He was just about to finish it when the hard drive failed…. (He got it back – expensively – through a hardware recovery service).

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

